It has never been easy to go to the North, that was, before the earthquakes caused by The Great Destroyer and his minions. When the quakes caused the earth to split and made passages to the Depths of Tyria many brave heroes from all over the planet traveled to the North. They were lucky to find the Asura and a friendly dwarf (although probably he was drunk because come on, who wants to freely cooperate with asura..). They told them about this invention they had, selfishly called: Asura Gates. One could travel great distances when using such a gate. So that was a great day for all of Tyria, finally we found an easy way to travel to the north, but guess what, they blew it up!

So far for having an easy route to the North. Lucky for me I’ve young legs and dare to take on an adventure, so I went to Yak’s Bend, you know, that outpost with plenty of food. Well think again, I forgot that the food was meant to be for the caravan back when Rurik traveled through this area. (The poor guy died because he was looking at his land while he needed to pay attention to the Stone Summit ambushing him)

So now that I arrived at Yak’s Bend I needed to ask around for a route to the North. You’ll probably wonder why in Grenth’s name did he went to Yak’s Bend? I’ll tell you, there has been a time I studied the geography of Tyria, and while doing so I noticed that the closest gap between the Northern Shiverpeak and the Far Shiverpeak was here, at Yak’s. So, I went around asking for help and met this dwarf, he told me that a cousin of a cousin of his cousin told him that the best way to reach the Far Shiverpeaks was to travel over the mountains. Of course I did not know where to start climbing so he told me that he would accompany me because he had some undone business with a certain dwarf in Gunnar’s Hold.

And so I went on my route towards the North, my first destiny will be the Eye of the North, where I will visit a dear friend of mine.

Batavus the Scribe,